Travel Awards

ASSAB Undergraduate Travel Awards

The ASSAB Undergraduate Travel Awards are a new initiative aimed at promising undergraduate students who have demonstrated interest in, and high aptitude for, the study of animal behaviour. The awards provide funds towards the cost of the student attending the annual ASSAB Conference.

ASSAB welcomes applications for the awards from undergraduate level science students who are completing either their final year of a Bachelors degree or an Honours degree or who have done so in the past 6 months.

Applications open each year around the same time as the conference registration opens, and winners are announced about 6 weeks before the conference. In 2017, the following dates apply for the Travel Awards:

Applications open: 2018 TBA

Applications close: 2018 TBA

Winners announced: at least 6 weeks prior to ASSAB 2018 Conference

Nature of the award

Up to six awards of $500 (or $250 for students based in the same city as the conference location) will be available to assist students towards registration, travel and accommodation costs associated with attending the annual conference, plus one year of ASSAB membership.


Applicants must be currently enrolled in an undergraduate degree or Honours, or have completed undergraduate studies in the academic year preceding the conference but not yet enrolled in postgraduate studies. The institution of the undergraduate or Honours course must be in Australasia.  Interested students should arrange for an email of support to be sent directly to the ASSAB grants officer by an academic from their institution who is a member of the ASSAB (e.g. course coordinator or Honours supervisor). They should then submit by email to the ASSAB grants officer (grants [at], by the above deadline:

  • their full contact details, both email and postal
  • a scanned copy of their tertiary academic record
  • a 500-word outline of their interests in the field of Animal Behaviour, and
  • the name and full contact details (including email address, phone number, and role) of the academic providing their letter of support

For further information contact grants [at]

Undergraduate Travel Award Winners 2017

Harry Eyck, Deakin University
Frances Jacomb, Australian National University
Braxton Jones, Macquarie University
Lucy Ransome, University of Queensland

Undergraduate Travel Award Winners 2016

Kai Paijmans, University of Wollongong

Claire Taylor, Australian National University
Alice Bauer, University of New England
Gaia Marini, University of Queensland
Mzuri Davies, Deakin University
Michael Kelly, Western Sydney University
Brittany Adriana Mitchell, University of Sydney